NaNoWriMo

I’ve taken on a challenge, and I keep coming back to the same problem: I don’t know how to write fiction. I just don’t. I’ve never been taught how to write fiction. I’ve been taught how to read fiction, but never how to write. I know they say that the more you read the better you’ll be able to write, and that’s probably true, but you do need some basic training to start off with. I have no idea what I’m doing. I barely have a plot. It’s more like a tiny moment, a chance encounter (what a cliche, *sigh*), and…that’s it.

What on Earth. How can I possibly be expected to do this if I don’t know how to write fiction? I want to take a class, learn about writing. I really, really want to do this.

I’m going to do it anyway, insha’Allah. Churn out 50,000 words, maybe more, and if it sucks at least I’ll have something to laugh about. And anyway, it’s the experience. The actual experience that will teach me at least somewhat about what works and what doesn’t. Who know’s what will come of this? But I’m excited. 🙂

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Don’t write fiction. Write about something you know, something you do, write about you, and start from there, think maybe of how thinks are and how you would like them to be. Dream. Put your dreams on a piece of paper and make them … alive.
    Good luck with the challenge.

  2. Thanks Pryzrak! That’s how I’ve started, writing about what I know and then creating a story around it somehow. I like the way you say it: put my dreams on a piece of paper. I think that’s why I’m so excited about it, I’m having fun creating and imagining.

    If you’re participating in this, good luck to you as well 🙂

  3. If you’re having fun, you don’t need anything else. I’m not participating into this, I don’t feel attracted to the idea but I’m trying to finish some old projects, and yes, I will need a drop of luck with the work, thank you.
    By the end of the month, let me know if your dreams become true 😉

  4. Hello! Thanks for your comment. Well, like it was mentioned before just write about what you know. Or, if there is something you want to know then write about that, that will encourage you to do more research and give you a sense of accomplishment in not only writing something, but learning along the way. But if you also want to flex your writing muscles you can work through some of the prompts of a writing book, my biggest suggestion being Natalie Goldberg’s “Writing Down the Bones”. This is a great book and gives you lots of great insights. Also, you don’t have to write fiction, you can write 50,000 pages of expository writing if you want, or personal essays on topics that interest you. Best of luck!

  5. Thanks thirteen! I think I’m going to stick with fiction, only because I’ve done a whole lot of personal essays and I really want to try something new. I’ve gotten some books on writing, and I’m going to take a look at the Natalie Goldberg one you recommend.

    I’ve finally gotten past my vague idea and am in the process of turning it into a full-fledged story. I’m excited to see where this takes me 🙂

    Good luck with your NaNo as well! 🙂

  6. I’m Nanwrimo-ing as well! Good luck–that’s the best view to take on it I think. As long as you’re enjoying yourself. I’ve never written fiction either; the longest paper I ever wrote in college was 8 pages . . . that’s a lot less than 50,000 words. Don’t get discouraged, just keep writing–even if you think it sucks. It doesn’t matter. The more you write, the more you get to know your character or how your character will react in different situations, and . . . maybe a story will develop. Maybe it won’t. But by the end of it, you’ll have created something and that’s more than a lot of people can say 🙂

  7. Thanks Ohlisa! I agree, I haven’t gotten much more written than I had when I wrote this, but I’m definitely beginning to see the characters come alive. It’s an amazing feeling, especially since I’ve never written fiction before. I’m definitely having fun writing mine, so that’s all I’m aiming for for now 🙂

    I hope your novel is coming along really well. What genre are you writing in?

Leave a Reply

